Baked Eggs with Spinach & Tomato

IMG_20160408_084719937

Look, it’s breakfast that tastes like pizza!! Say, whaaaa?

I know what you’re thinking? Eggs? Yes, today I tried to add some eggs into my meal plan. As I said the other day, I am slowly adding things back in when I find I crave them. Meat just isn’t something I have craved since the Reset so it hasn’t come back in. Eggs, however, are a different story so today I decided to try out a new recipe.

It was yummy, super filling and easy to make. This is a great recipe for Saturday morning brunch and I think even the kids will try it out and love it!

Baked Eggs with Spinach and Tomato (yields 2 servings)

Ingredients

4 eggs

4 cups baby spinach leaves

1/2 cup tomato sauce (make sure it’s natural with no sugar added)

2 tsp olive oil

salt and pepper to taste

1/2 tsp garlic powder

1/2 onion, diced

1/4 cup cheese or dairy-free alternative (I used TJ’s almond cheese which is awesome BTW)

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350.
  2. Heat oil in an ovenproof pan (stainless steel and cast iron are your best bets) over medium-high heat. Add onion and cook for 5 minutes or until translucent. Add spinach, salt and pepper and garlic powder and saute for 2 minutes.
  3. Make 4 holes in the spinach. This is where you will place the eggs.
  4. Crack 1 egg into each opening in the spinach mixture.
  5. Spread tomato sauce throughout the spinach mixture (it’s OK if it gets on the eggs too). Sprinkle with cheese.
  6. Place in oven and cook for approximately 10-15 minutes or until cheese is melted and eggs are cooked through to your liking (if you prefer them a little runny, check them earlier)

 

Leave a Reply

