Vegan-ings and Intermittent Fasting

IMG_20160403_085050009Good morning world! I am about 2 weeks post-Reset and I am STILL eating vegan. I did add eggs twice but I didn’t love the way I felt afterwards so I decided to take them back out. I want to be clear, my decision to eat vegan right now is really to find out the best way to fuel my body. It’s a personal decision and it is a bit more work for me but if it helps with some of the issues I have had in the past, I will continue to the best of my ability. I am not perfect and I am sure there will be some days where I really want a hamburger but for now, those days are not overwhelming so being vegetarian (and even more specifically, vegan) hasn’t been that hard yet. Eating out isn’t as easy. I am heading to a Gala Auction this weekend for my son’s school and I am not so sure what I will be able to eat but I can plan in advance for that so I’m not worried.

Another thing I wanted to mention is that I have been reading and listening to a lot of podcasts lately about a phenomenon known as Intermittent Fasting. There are a few different ways to do this but the research behind it is about your body being able to tap into its fat stores more often when you are in an extended fasting state. For some people, this means fasting for a day or two and then eating. I’m going to be totally honest with you…I can’t do that. So, what works for me? I eat during an 8 hour window throughout the day and then I fast during 16 hours (to be fair, I am sleeping during 7 of those hours…or 5 on a bad night like last night 😦 ) I decided to try this because I was basically already doing this throughout the Ultimate Reset. What hours work for me? 9-5. This is mostly because I am awake so early in the morning and I workout in the morning that I can’t make it much later than 9AM before breakfast.

I will be sharing more with you about this journey but what I am hoping to do is bring my results to the next level while fueling my body in the best way possible. Summer is coming and while it isn’t all about how I look, I have a goal to wear my bikini again and to feel more comfortable in it!

So tell me, would you try intermittent fasting? Would you like to know more about it?

And, as a BONUS, here’s a sample vegan meal plan from me! VeganMealPlanusingIntermittentFastingeatingfor8hourwindowduringthedayfastingfor16hours

 

Leave a Reply

