Breakfast simplified

Most mornings I have my shake for breakfast but sometimes I want something else so I save my shake for lunch or dinner. Today may be just one of those days since it is set to be a packed day with 2 services to sing at and not much down time in between! The other day I shared some overnight oats that I had made with you all so I figured I would also share the recipe. This is the perfect solution if you are on-the-go a lot in the morning because you can make a few little jars on Sunday night and have breakfast for the first few days of the week. You can even choose to top them in different ways depending on your mood that morning. I will share some of my favorite toppings with you at the end of this post. But, first let’s get down to the meat and potatoes of the recipe. I should also mention, this is a larger serving so if you are doing the Fix, it’s going to count as 2 full yellow containers for the day.

Overnight Oats (yields 1 serving)

Ingredients:

1 cup old fashioned rolled oats

1/2 tbsp chia seeds

1/2 tbsp hemp seeds

3/4 cup filtered water

1/3 cup unsweetened cashew milk (I have started making my own…super easy and no preservatives!)

1 tsp raw honey or pure maple syrup (Grade B is best)

10 drops stevia (optional)

2 tsps cashew cream (again, I made my own here)

Directions:

Place the oats in a container and top with water, honey, stevia, cashew milk and cashew cream (in that order). Allow to sit in the fridge overnight (or even a day or two if you are making a few at a time).

Variations and  Topping Options:

Lemon Blueberry Oats: Top with blueberries and some lemon zest

Apple Pie Oats: Add 1 tbsp chopped walnuts and 1/2 cup chopped apples and a dash of 12705339_10102300947155257_2414363839532544281_ncinnamon

Chocolate Cream Oats: Add 1 tsp raw cacao and 1 tsp dark chocolate chips

Peaches and Cream: Add 1/2 cup chopped peaches

Tropical Paradise Oats: Add 1/2 cup diced papaya, 1/2 cup diced pineapple and 1 tbsp unsweetened shredded coconut

 

Leave a Reply

