The Ultimate Reset: A Summation

Today marks the first day after my 21 days of The Ultimate Reset. I set out to do this program as a cleanse: to detox my body of all the yuckiness that comes from not making healthy food choices. It is described as a workout for your insides and that is definitely an accurate decision. There were times when I felt aches and pains from inside that seemed odd to me but were just a part of the process of my body resetting itself. Here are some of my thoughts from the past 21 days and how I am moving forward after this:

1st day of the Ultimate Reset- March 1st

  1. The program moved in stages so I was gradually cutting food out until the final week was pretty much just veggies and fruit and healthy fats. The transition out of the program should be the same. I didn’t actually account for the transition period when I first decided to do the program so it is butting up against some celebrations/holidays (ehem, Easter) but I am so happy about the way I am feeling, I don’t even mind missing out on coconut custard pie.
  2. When you remove meat and sugar from your diet, you don’t crave it. You don’t even miss it…not even a little bit. I am amazed that the things I craved were simple: peanut butter (I eat natural peanut butter with no sugar), eggs, oatmeal (I could eat it in Stage 1 but not beyond that) and my daily Shakeology which was reduced to a half serving each day and some days none at all.
  3. Today’s meal plan: I am keeping it simple today and close to the previous days: Breakfast was fruit salad with walnuts, snack was vegan chocolate Shakeology with peanut butter, lunch was hearty vegetable miso soup and Moroccan carrot salad over mixed greens, afternoon snack was 2 pitted Medjool dates and green tea and dinner is roasted beets, coconut collard greens and 2 pieces of baked tempeh (I found a tempeh that I like, hurrah!)
  4. How I felt: Week 1 was tough. I had classic symptoms of cleansing like headaches, body aches, fatigue (I went to bed at 8PM almost every night that week), brain fog and cramping/pain in my lower abdomen. It was definitely tough on those days but I took it easy and gave myself a break. I allowed myself to go to bed early and to rest. Week 2 was easier and Week 3 even easier although I did feel a bit hungry on some days during Week 3. I determined I was not drinking enough water and fixing that took care of my hunger.
  5. Doing a program like this is transformative. It makes you rethink the food you eat. I am not saying I am going to be fanatical about it…I need to live too but I am saying that eating like this made me feel better inside and out than I have eating in any other way so I will be working to keep most of the principles of the program in my life when planning meals. Today I spent some time during meal prep making some of my favorite recipes from the Reset.

Now that it is over, I am moving on to my next workout program but haven’t yet decided what it will be. I am going to be doing some sample workouts from each this week and will post. Will you help me decide?

Would you be brave enough to take on a program like The Ultimate Reset? Most of us think it’s too hard and we won’t have the willpower. The thing I found amazing is that it didn’t even take willpower. I knew what I was going to be eating and I planned and packed for every occasion. Sometimes it was annoying but I never felt like I was missing out. When I get together for dinner with friends, it isn’t the food that’s important, but the company!

So, at the end of 3 weeks, I lost 7 lbs and 7 inches overall and I have a ton more energy and am ready to take on the next challenge!

Leave a Reply

