Crockpot Teriyaki Chicken

This recipe couldn’t be any easier. It features the crockpot, the busy person’s favorite invention. Let’s face it, some days are too busy to stand over the stove or some days you just don’t want to. It’s also a crowd pleaser! I made it this week for a friend’s family and they loved it! I love making food for friends, it’s an easy way to help a friend who’s busy or stressed or been through a rough time or thank them for everything they have done for you. I was blessed to receive meals when little Miss K was a baby and it was the most amazing gift to know that dinner was taken care of and one thing was off my plate!

As a side note, ginger is quickly becoming one of my favorite, most versatile ingredients in my cooking. I keep it in my refrigerator at all times because it works in tea, in savory dishes and in sweets!

jtq1315211680.20972822_sq_thumb_m

Crockpot Teriyaki Chicken (serves 4)

Ingredients:

2 tbsp plus 1 tsp sesame oil, divided

1/2 medium sized onion, diced

4 chicken breasts (can be fresh or frozen)

1/3 cup Bragg’s Liquid Amino’s

1/4 cup coconut sugar

1 inch long piece of peeled, fresh ginger, grated

juice of 1/2 lemon

1 green onion, sliced thinly

1 head of broccoli, cut into florets

2 tbsp toasted sesame seeds

Directions:

In a saute pan over high heat, add 1 tsp sesame oil and saute onions until translucent. Transfer onions to crockpot and add chicken, Liquid Amino’s, coconut sugar, ginger, and lemon juice. Cook on low for 8 hours or high for 5-6 hours (may need longer if you start with frozen chicken breasts). Approximately 1/2 hour before you plan to serve your meal, add the chopped broccoli florets to the crockpot and cook in the juice/sauce until tender. Plate and garnish with green onion and sprinkle with toasted sesame seeds. I served it over rice and it was delicious. So delicious in fact that I didn’t get a picture!

Leave a comment