Being flexible…and a recipe

Today I ate some brownies…not a ton of brownies but more than I wanted to. I have this tendency to go for perfection when I am trying to lose weight. It serves me well as I tend to lose it quickly but it’s an all or nothing mentality that has led to a lot of up and downs on the scale throughout my life.

A few years ago, I went hardcore and I lost 90 lbs. I was the thinnest I had ever been but my body wasn’t toned and my mindset hadn’t changed. When I started trying to incorporate the foods I had cut out to lose that weight back into my diet, I couldn’t cope. I stopped paying attention and I stopped planning. Life happened and I stopped taking care of myself. I put half of the weight back on. We went through losses with the adoption and I punished myself by putting my health last and by eating whatever I wanted. I would make poor food choices and instead of moving on and making a good choice the next time, I figured I had ruined my eating for the day so I might as well continue to eat whatever I wanted. It’s self-sabotaging but it is very common.

This time around, I am working to change my mindset and to not think of what I am doing as dieting and to not expect perfection from my eating. I need to be able to eat a brownie and move on from that indulgence to make a healthy choice for the rest of the day. I need to not throw in the towel and give up on all I have achieved with my hard work just because I didn’t stick to my plan “perfectly”. I am a work in progress, just like anyone else.

So today I ate a brownie. But do you know what else I did? I got up and I pushed play. I worked hard and I upped my weights. I planned a healthy dinner and I drank my Shakeology for lunch to ensure my body was still getting the nutrients it needed and not just the chocolate it wanted. I drank a lot of water and I plan to head to bed early to get plenty of rest as I am nursing a sore throat. When I think about my day, it’s important to look at the whole picture and not just focus on the one choice I deemed “imperfect”. I am working to focus on eating healthy as a lifestyle and not as a diet that is started and stopped. Some days I might stay on track completely and have all the will power I need to not indulge…and some days, I need to eat a brownie with my 6 year old.

And that healthy dinner I mentioned, here is a recipe for you to try it out at home!

Sundried Tomato, Goat Cheese and Walnut Stuffed Chicken Breast

IMG_20160124_173759448

Ingredients:

3 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, sliced in half to create a flap (filling will go under this flap)

2 tbsp chopped walnuts

2 oz herbed goat cheese

2 tbsp sundried tomatoes, chopped

1 1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp lemon pepper

1 tsp garlic powder

zest of 1 lemon

juice from 1 lemon

2 tsp olive oil

1. Preheat oven to 350.

2. In a bowl, combine goat cheese, sundried tomatoes and walnuts. In a separate bowl, combine oil, lemon juice, lemon zest, salt, lemon pepper and garlic powder.

3. Rub olive oil mixture onto the chicken breasts, taking care to cover all surfaces including inside the flap.

4. Divide cheese mixture into 3 equal amounts and place in the pocket of the chicken breast, folding the flap over to cover it.

5. Place stuffed chicken breasts in a Pyrex baking dish or on a greased cookie tray and bake for 45 minutes or until a thermometer inserted into the meat registers 160.

6. Remove chicken breasts from over and allow to rest at room temperature, covered loosely by foil, for 15 minutes.

We served ours with lemon steamed green beans, roasted balsamic glazed asparagus spears and sweet potato/russet potato/cauliflower mash.

IMG_20160124_165806143

Leave a Reply

