Always be able to adapt

Today is the start of a 5 Day Clean Eating Challenge that I am leading. The menus, grocery and recipe lists were sent out late last week. I was prepared….or so I thought. Last night, as I went to bed, I realized that this morning I was planning to attend Muffins with Mom at my son’s school. I figured I would pack my food but realized that I would need something more portable than the oatmeal that was on the meal plan. I decided to look at the ingredients I had offered in the recipe for the oatmeal and come up with my own form of a muffin to bring to Muffins with Mom: baked oatmeal! The lesson learned here is that preparation is the key for any situation where I will be tempted by food that is less-than-good for me. This morning, I was satisfied and happy with my baked oatmeal in place of the muffins that were served.

12080779_10102050965250997_512182410_n

Baked Pear Spice Oatmeal

(yields 24 mini muffins or 12 regular muffins. Serving size: 2 minis or 1 regular)

adapted from these Beachbody baked oatmeal cups

Ingredients:

1 egg, beaten

1/3 cup egg whites

1 ripe banana, smashed

1 tsp pure vanilla extract

1 tbsp pure maple syrup

2 1/2 cups rolled oats

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp nutmeg

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

1 cup peeled, sliced pears

1 cup unsweetened almond milk

1 tbsp flax meal

1 tbsp coconut sugar

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350.

2. In a large bowl, whisk together first 5 ingredients.

3. In a separate, smaller bowl, mix together oats, cinnamon, nutmeg, salt, and baking powder. Add to wet mixture and stir until well incorporated.

4. Stir in almond milk and mix well.

5. Add pears and mix well.

6. Pour into sprayed muffin cups and top each with a sprinkle of flax meal and coconut sugar.

7. Bake until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean, approximately 15 minutes for mini muffins, 20-25 for larger muffins.

12083958_10102050965231037_1940300153_n

Leave a Reply

