Snack attack!

A friend recently asked me for a list of my favorite go-to snacks or on-the-go meals. While this is most definitely not a comprehensive list, it includes some of the foods I reach for the most when I am feeling hungry and want to keep it healthy. Our lives nowadays are so busy and we often leave the house early in the morning and don’t return until after dinner. Here are some snacks I pack in my bag or bring along with me to ensure I don’t spend the entire day snacking on foods that don’t fit into my healthy meal plan.

12029130_10102033491912707_1895799776_n

  • Multigrain or whole wheat English muffins: I spread 1 tsp. of raw almond butter on this and it’s a great on-the-go snack. You can also top it with 1 tsp coconut oil and a hardboiled egg for an open-faced egg sandwich.
  • Rice cakes: These are also great spread with nut butter but I also enjoy them plain. When you are looking for a snack with a crunch that is reminiscent of chips, this is a great one to reach for. Some of my favorites are Lundberg’s Sesame Tamari and Suzie’s thin cakes.
  • Greek yogurt: By now, you all know about my love for Greek yogurt; no need to rehash this one. It is a yummy, creamy and versatile high protein snack
  • Fresh vegetables: I like bell peppers, Persian cucumbers and cherry tomatoes but carrots and celery are great too. I pair them with some hardboiled eggs when I am on the go during lunch for a deconstructed salad.
  • Hardboiled egg: The perfect, portable protein. I make a bunch in the beginning of the week that way I always have something on hand when I am hungry.
  • Apples and grapes: More portable goodness! I love all types of fruit but apples and grapes are very portable and sweet which satisfies any cravings I might have for something sweet.
  • Nuts: Raw cashews and raw pecans are my favorites and when I want something a bit more like a treat, I add a few raisins and semi-sweet chocolate chips to make my own, healthier trail mix.
  • Raw nut butter: I recently started eating raw nut butters and I like them even more than their roasted counterparts. I spread nut butters on rice cakes, English muffins, banana slices, celery stalks, apple slices. I top yogurt with it and I add it to smoothies. Artisana makes several yummy flavors (my favorites are Pecan and Walnut!) and you can buy convenient trial packs so you get to taste each flavor before committing to a whole jar.
  • Larabars: I am not a big fan of bars but sometimes you just need something you can throw in your bag and not think about. Larabars are a great option when you are on the go. There are several amazing flavors and you can even get mini ones for those times when you don’t want to eat so many calories at once. Current favorite flavors: coconut cream pie, chocolate chip cookie dough, blueberry muffin and cashew cookie.
  • Shakeology! One scoop of Shakeology contains protein, antioxidants, probiotics, prebiotics, vitamins and minerals all sourced from natural, wholesome super foods….nothing fake or artificial in here! I start my day with Shakeology because it’s an easy breakfast that helps me stay full longer and has helped lessen my cravings for junk food and sweets because my body is getting the nutrition it needs. It is the perfect solution for a busy morning. Stay tuned for future blog posts highlighting some of my favorite flavors!
Leave a Reply

