An Ode to Greek Yogurt

Oh, Greek yogurt, how do I love thee? Let me count the ways? For me, the wonder that is Greek yogurt comes in its ability to be transformed so easily. Here are some of my favorite ways to eat/cook with Greek yogurt

  1. Instant creamy dessert: Add 1/2 tsp vanilla extract and 3-4 drops of liquid stevia and stir for a creamy, thick vanilla yogurt. You can jazz it up by adding pure cacao powder to make it chocolately, powdered peanut butter to make it peanut butter or 1 tsp raw nut butter which gives it a decadence that makes it worthy to be called dessert.
  2. Savory dishes: I use Greek yogurt in my mashed potatoes. I have even been known to sneak some in to my kids’ mac n’cheese. My all time favorite savory recipe using Greek yogurt is my Chicken Salad (see recipe below).
  3. Use it as a substitute for sour cream on top of tacos or fajitas for a higher protein punch with less fat.
  4. Smoothies! I love to add just one tablespoon of Greek yogurt to my Strawberry Shakeology, along with 1 tsp raw almond butter and 1 pitted date. I enjoy the added creaminess and tang.
  5. Baking substitute: Greek yogurt is a great baking substitute for oil in muffins and quick breads especially.
  6. Use it as a substitute for whipped cream to accompany fruit crisps, fruit salads or other dessert.

shutterstock_117421366

Lightened up Chicken Waldorf Salad

Ingredients:

2 roasted chicken breasts (I get the split breasts and roast them in the oven, then take the meat off), meat chopped or diced

1/2 cup Chopped Nuts (whatever you like best, I used almonds but you can use pistachios, pecans or walnuts)

1/3 cup Dried cranberries (or raisins)

1 apple peeled and diced

1/3 cup diced red or white onion

2 stalks celery diced

1 cup 0% plain greek yogurt

2 tablespoons light mayonnaise (I like to use The Ojai Cook Light Lemonaise)

1 tsp Sea Salt

Dash of Pepper

3/4 tsp Cinnamon

1/4 tsp Nutmeg

Directions: Mix all dry ingredients together in a bowl and mix in mayo and yogurt and spices to taste. This recipe is so easy to change up based on your tastes and preferences. If you don’t like dried cranberries or raisins, try cutting grapes in half and adding those. If you are allergic to nuts, omit them completely or substitute sunflower seeds or pepitas.

Enjoy!

One thought on “An Ode to Greek Yogurt

Leave a Reply

